Connect with us


Glass, Brook Brothers Finalists at WHL Year-End Awards

By Carter Brooks

Photo by Marissa Baecker

Winnipeg’s Cody Glass and Roblin’s Josh and Jakob Brook finished off their 2018-19 Western Hockey League seasons as finalists for three separate awards Wednesday.

Glass, Brook Brothers Finalists at WHL Year-End Awards

Glass, 20, the first-ever selection by the NHL’s Vegas Golden Knights was nominated for the Brad Horung Trophy as the WHL’s Most Sportsmanlike Player. Although having his season cut short, Glass put up 15 goals and 69 points in just 38 games. He had just 18 penalty minutes. Moose Jaw’s Justin Almeida collected the award. 

Josh Brook, 19, received nomination for the Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy as WHL Defenceman of the Year. The fourth-year Moose Jaw Warrior saw his best point production in 2018-19, registering 16 goals and 75 points in 59 games played for the Warriors. Spokane’s Ty Smith narrowly edged Brook out for the recognition.

Jakob Brook, 17, was nominated for the Daryl K. Seaman Trophy as Scholastic Player of the Year. The first-year WHL forward put up six goals and 12 points for the league-best Prince Albert Raiders in 61 regular season games. Everett Silvertips netminder Dustin Wolf won the award.

{loadposition relatedarticles} 

The WHL also highlighted its first and second team all-stars for each of its conferences for the 2018-19 season Wednesday. The Manitoban selections are listed below: 

Eastern Conference First Team: Josh Brook (Roblin), Tristin Langan (Swan River)

Eastern Conference Second Team: Jett Woo (Winnipeg), Stelio Mattheos (Winnipeg)

Western Conference First Team: Cody Glass (Winnipeg), Connor Dewar (The Pas)

Western Conference Second Team: None

With the Prince Albert Raiders set to host the Vancouver Giants in the WHL final beginning Friday, there are still four Manitobans active in the CHL postseason. Vancouver netminder Trent Miner will do his best to help shut down the Raiders’ high-flying offence consisting of fellow provincial stars Martin Max, Justin Nachbaur and the aforementioned Jakob Brook. Puck drop is set for 8:00 PM central from the Art Hauser Centre in Saskatchewan. 

Carter Brooks - Associate Editor of Game On Magazine - is a news writer and sports columnist situated in Winnipeg, MB. On top of reading and writing, his favourite pastimes include camping, car-modification projects and coaching hockey. Carter can be reached at

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in WHL


Create a username and password below