Connect with us


Winnipeg’s Jarvis Named WHL’s Most Sportsmanlike

Photo by Keith Dwiggins

Winnipeg’s Jarvis Named WHL’s Most Sportsmanlike

On Thursday, the Western Hockey League announced Portland Winterhawks forward Seth Jarvis as the 2019-20 recipient of the Brad Hornung Trophy, presented annually to the league’s most sportsmanlike player. The Winnipeg product was named as a league finalist for the award back on April 15, to which he earned more votes from the league’s 22 head coaches and general managers than his counterpart, runner-up Aliaksei Protas of the Prince Albert Raiders.

Jarvis will now represent the WHL as one of three nominees for the Canadian Hockey League Sportsman of the Year, taking on Nick Robertson of the OHL (Peterborough Petes) and Jakob Pelletier of the QMJHL (Moncton Wildcats). After earning the top recognition amongst a pool of 11 teams and over 275 players from the WHL’s Eastern Conference, the 5-foot-10, 172-pound forward beat out the Western Conference’s Sportsmanlike Player of the Year Protras in a narrow vote.

Jarvis, had a stellar 2019-20 campaign, finishing second in league scoring, six points up on the third-place man. He scored 42 goals, added 56 assists and totalled 98 points in just 50 games, while putting up three five-point games this season for the Winterhawks. Within his 42 goals were eight on the man-advantage, two while shorthanded and another eight served as game-winners.

The former Winnipeg Monarch Bantam AAA and RHA Prep squad star was also named a WHL First Team All-Star this past season. His point totals and personal accolades certainly helped boost his stock for the coming 2020 NHL Entry Draft, which will be held virtually sometime this summer. The final NHL’s Central Scouting report listed Jarvis as the 11th ranked North American skater available to be selected.

The ‘sportsmanlike’ part of the equation takes a thorough look at his penalty minutes through the season. With just 24 minutes in penalties, Jarvis finished near the top of the league in that regard. He had two 10-minute misconducts for mouthguard infractions, while just once registering two penalties in one game. Jarvis’ remaining penalties were all minors, while not recording any majors or fighting penalties.

The Brad Hornung Trophy is in recognition of a man who saw his WHL career end suddenly following a debilitating injury in a game with the Regina Pats in 1987. The annual award has always been determined by a vote including all league general managers and head coaches. Talent, desire and sportsmanlike attributes are the key cogs to this recognition.

Two fellow Manitobans Nigel Dawes (Kootenay ICE, 2003-04) and Mark Stone (Brandon Wheat Kings, 2011-12) have also earned this distinction. Of the two, Stone went on to be named the CHL Sportsman of the Year.

Carter Brooks - Associate Editor of Game On Magazine - is a news writer and sports columnist situated in Winnipeg, MB. On top of reading and writing, his favourite pastimes include camping, car-modification projects and coaching hockey. Carter can be reached at

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in WHL


Create a username and password below