Connect with us

Women's Hockey

NWHL to Add Second Canadian-Based Club for 2021-22

Photo courtesy of the NWHL

NWHL to Add Second Canadian-Based Club for 2021-22

The National Women’s Hockey League is reportedly looking to expand to Montreal, QC. for the 2021-22 season. Currently home to six teams, the NWHL had operated as an American-based, five-team league until the 2020-21 season, to which the Toronto Six made its debut as the sixth franchise.

With the league’s Isobel Cup Playoffs put on hold following the sudden conclusion of the postseason back in February due to the threat of COVID-19, the announcement of the league’s Canadian expansion was pushed back.

With the league still not officially releasing any information on the subject, reports have come out that Montreal will be home to the league’s second Canadian-based club, beginning in time for the league’s seventh season in 2021-22.

The NWHL currently hosts American teams out of Boston, New Jersey, Connecticut, Minnesota and Buffalo, while the group organizing the Montreal expansion currently has shares in the Boston Pride. It also led the charge to expand to Toronto and launch the Six this past season.

After seeing its postseason interrupted a month ago, the NWHL will resume its playoffs on Friday evening on the NBC Sports Network, with the No. 1 seed Toronto taking on Boston, while Minnesota and Connecticut will duke it out in the other semifinal. Saturday will see the championship game played, which will also be telecast live on NBCSN.

Carter Brooks - Associate Editor of Game On Magazine - is a news writer and sports columnist situated in Winnipeg, MB. On top of reading and writing, his favourite pastimes include camping, car-modification projects and coaching hockey. Carter can be reached at

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in Women's Hockey


Create a username and password below