Connect with us


Blake Wheeler Nominated for King Clancy Memorial Trophy

Photo by James Carey Lauder

Blake Wheeler Nominated for King Clancy Memorial Trophy

On Tuesday, the National Hockey League announced its 31 nominees for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy. This award is presented annually to the player whom “best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

Selecting one player off their own rosters, NHL teams put forth the name from their club that best exemplified the characteristics listed above for consideration for the 2020-21 edition of the award. NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly will lead the selection committee.

When looking through the nominees, Bettman, Daly and Co. will consider the following parameters:

  • Clear and measurable positive impact on the community
  • Investment of time and resources
  • Commitment to a particular cause or community
  • Commitment to the League’s community initiatives
  • Creativity of programming
  • Use of influence; engagement of others

Nominated by the Winnipeg Jets was captain Blake Wheeler.

This past year, the 34-year-old posted a series of videos to his social media accounts highlighting the various efforts made to reduce the risk of spreading COVID-19. Wheeler also successfully urged Manitoba Premier Brian Pallister publicly to implement an indoor mask policy within the province.

Wheeler’s largest charitable accomplishment came through CancerCare Manitoba Foundation’s event Ride Inside: Wheel with the Wheelers back in early November.

Ride Inside Set for November 5 – Your Chance to Wheel with the Wheelers

The King Clancy Memorial Trophy winners will receive a $25,000 donation to benefit a charity or charities of his choice. The two runners-up each will receive a $5,000 donation to benefit a charity or charities of their choice.

The full list of 2020-21 King Clancy Memorial Trophy nominees are:

  • Anaheim: Cam Fowler
  • Arizona: Oliver Ekman-Larsson
  • Boston: Charlie Coyle
  • Buffalo: Jack Eichel
  • Calgary: Mikael Backlund
  • Carolina: Jordan Staal
  • Chicago: Connor Murphy
  • Colorado: Pierre-Edouard Bellemare
  • Columbus: Cam Atkinson
  • Dallas: Esa Lindell
  • Detroit: Dylan Larkin
  • Edmonton: Kyle Turris
  • Florida: Sergei Bobrovsky
  • Los Angeles: Trevor Moore
  • Minnesota: Mats Zuccarello
  • Montreal: Jonathan Drouin
  • Nashville: Pekka Rinne
  • New Jersey: P.K. Subban
  • NY Islanders: Anders Lee
  • NY Rangers: Chris Kreider
  • Ottawa: Thomas Chabot
  • Philadelphia: Scott Laughton
  • Pittsburgh: Sidney Crosby
  • San Jose: Kurtis Gabriel
  • St. Louis: Ryan O’Reilly
  • Tampa Bay: Alex Killorn
  • Toronto: John Tavares
  • Vancouver: Tyler Motte
  • Vegas: Marc-Andre Fleury
  • Washington: Garnet Hathaway
  • Winnipeg: Blake Wheeler


Carter Brooks - Associate Editor of Game On Magazine - is a news writer and sports columnist situated in Winnipeg, MB. On top of reading and writing, his favourite pastimes include camping, car-modification projects and coaching hockey. Carter can be reached at

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in NHL


Create a username and password below