Connect with us


Moose Forward Nathan Todd Named to Divisional All-Star Team

Photo by Scott Stroh

Moose Forward Nathan Todd Named to Divisional All-Star Team

Manitoba Moose forward Nathan Todd is officially an AHL all-star.

The American Hockey League announced its five divisional all-star teams this week, including that of the newly formed Canadian Division – consisting of the Manitoba Moose, Toronto Marlies, Belleville Senators, Laval Rocket and ‘honorary Canadian’ Stockton Heat.

With six members from each of the five divisions being recognized, a total of 30 AHL players received all-star nods. Each all-star team member will receive a custom-designed crystal award from the league in recognition of his selection to one of the 2020-21 AHL all-star teams.

Of the 30 players chosen, three have ties to the province of Manitoba. Nathan Todd – who led the Canadian Division in scoring – was selected from the Manitoba Moose, while Brandon’s Calen Addison (Iowa Wild) and former Brandon Wheat Kings netminder Logan Thompson (Henderson Silver Knights) also earned places on the all-star teams.

Todd, 25, had a sensational season for the Moose, putting up 12 goals and 32 points in 36 games for Manitoba. Leading both his team and division in points, the second-year forward finished tied for seventh in league scoring just one season removed from putting up one goal in 20 games with the Moose.

He finished first in even strength points (20), second in power play points (12) and tied for first in plus/minus (10). He had six multi-point outings, while collecting goals or primary assists on 84 percent of his total points. Todd finished fifth in the league in shots on net (121) while ending the year second in shootout goals scored (2).

The Ottawa, ON. product is the first member of the Moose to be named to an all-star team since 2017-18, when Mason Appleton, Sami Niku and Michael Hutchinson all heard their names called. Overall, Todd is the 13th player to earn an AHL all-star title in franchise history.

Joining Todd as all-stars are Calen Addison and Logan Thompson.

The Brandon-born defender Addison had himself a sensational first professional season  split between the AHL’s Iowa Wild and the big league Minnesota Wild. Acquired via trade from the Pittsburgh Penguins back in February of 2020, the 21-year-old began the AHL season with a bang, scoring three points on opening night, before tallying a total of six goals and 22 points in 31 games on the blueline for Iowa. He made his NHL debut on February 16, while also earning his first career point in his first career postseason game.

Thompson, a goaltender continued in his developmental path following three seasons of play with the WHL’s Brandon Wheat Kings. After one season with Brock University, Thompson suited up in goal for two years in the ECHL, before getting his shot with Kelly McCrimmon’s Vegas Golden Knights and the AHL’s Henderson Silver Knights. The 24-year-old owned an incredible 1.96 goals against average and a .943 save percentage with Henderson, before making his debut with Vegas on March 10.

2020-21 AHL Canadian Division All-Star Team
G – Cayden Primeau, Laval Rocket (11-4-0, 2.10gaa, .909sv%, 2so)
D – Otto Leskinen, Laval Rocket (33gp, 1+16=17pts., +15, 6 PPA)
D – Connor Mackey, Stockton Heat (27gp, 3+13=16pts., 47 SOG, 16 ESP)
F – Kalle Kossila, Toronto Marlies (28gp, 7+22=29pts., +11, 2 PPG, 1 GWG)
F – Egor Sokolov, Belleville Senators (35gp, 15+10=25pts., 3 PPG, 1 GWG)
F – Nathan Todd, Manitoba Moose (36gp, 12+20=32pts., +10, 5 PPG, 2 GWG)

2020-21 AHL Atlantic Division All-Star Team
G – Jeremy Swayman, Providence Bruins (8-1-0, 1.89gaa, .933sv%, 1so)
D – Samuel Bolduc, Bridgeport Sound Tigers (24gp, 6+8=14pts., +5, 1 PPG)
D – Tarmo Reunanen, Hartford Wolf Pack (21gp, 4+13=17pts., 2 PPG)
F – Morgan Barron, Hartford Wolf Pack (21gp, 10+11=21pts., +8, 6 PPG)
F – Cameron Hughes, Providence Bruins (25gp, 5+16=21pts., 1 PPG, 1 SHG)
F – Jakub Lauko, Providence Bruins (23gp, 5+14=19pts., +11, 2 PPG)

2020-21 AHL North Division All-Star Team
G – Zane McIntyre, Lehigh Valley Phantoms (11-3-3, 2.33gaa, .917sv%, 1so)
D – Oskari Laaksonen, Rochester Americans (28gp, 2+15=17pts., 2 PPG, 8 PPA)
D – Cameron Schilling, Hershey Bears (31gp, 4+15=19pts., +12, 1 PPG)
F – Boris Katchouk
, Syracuse Crunch (29gp, 11+23=34pts., +17, 1 PPG, 1 GWG)
F – Connor McMichael, Hershey Bears (33gp, 14+13=27pts., +6, 6 PPG, 8 GWG)
F – Taylor Raddysh, Syracuse Crunch (27gp, 12+17=29pts., +2, 3 PPG, 1 SHG)

2020-21 AHL Central Division All-Star Team
G – Beck Warm, Chicago Wolves (8-4-1, 2.74gaa, .914sv%, 2so)
D – Calen Addison, Iowa Wild (31gp, 6+16=22pts., +7, 1 PPG, 7 PPA)
D – Cody Franson, Rockford IceHogs (26gp, 4+13=17pts., +1, 9 PPP)
F – Riley Barber, Grand Rapids Griffins (32gp, 20+14=34pts., 8 PPG, 6 GWG)
F – Riley Damiani, Texas Stars (36gp, 11+25=36pts., +3, 4 PPG, 2 GWG)
F – Adam Mascherin, Texas Stars (37gp, 18+16=34pts., +1, 4 PPG, 1 GWG)

2020-21 AHL Pacific Division All-Star Team
G – Logan Thompson, Henderson Silver Knights (16-6-1, 1.96gaa, .943sv%, 2so)
D – Josh Mahura, San Diego Gulls (28gp, 6+14=20pts., +9, 8 PPP, 1 GWG)
D – Ryan Murphy, Henderson Silver Knights (37gp, 5+22=27pts., +4, 14 PPP, 1 GWG)
F – Cooper Marody, Bakersfield Condors (39gp, 21+15=36pts., +17, 3 PPG, 4 GWG)
F – Andrew Poturalski, San Diego Gulls (44gp, 9+34=43pts., 13 PPP, 1 GWG)
F – T.J. Tynan, Colorado Eagles (27gp, 8+27=35pts., 2 PPG, 12 PPA)

Carter Brooks - Associate Editor of Game On Magazine - is a news writer and sports columnist situated in Winnipeg, MB. On top of reading and writing, his favourite pastimes include camping, car-modification projects and coaching hockey. Carter can be reached at or on Twitter at @GameOnHockey.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in AHL


Create a username and password below