Connect with us


Moose Athletic Trainer Named as Recipient of Prestigious AHL Award

Photo by Marek Tkach

Moose Athletic Trainer Named as Recipient of Prestigious AHL Award

The American Hockey League has taken a unique stance on its annual Yanick Dupré Man of the Year award for the 2020-21 season. Following a season unlike any other, the AHL has opted to highlight the exceptional work of each of its 32 head athletic trainers league-wide, by naming them all as co-winners of the Yanick Dupré Memorial Award for 2020-21.

Earning this reputable recognition for the Manitoba Moose was Head Athletic Trainer and Massage Therapist Zach Salmonson. The 38-year-old has been with the Moose since the 2015-16 season, and has been in the Head Athletic Trainer position since 2019.

Also of note within the list of winners is Winnipeg product Jordan Aube, who has been with the Toronto Marlies since 2016.

From the League:

Presented annually since 1998, this award traditionally acknowledges a player as the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year for his outstanding contributions to his local community; in 2020-21, the league is pleased to recognize the athletic training staffs from all 31 organizations.

In addition to their day-to-day responsibilities of looking after the general health of their players – including the prevention, treatment and rehabilitation of injuries – these athletic trainers and therapists took on the additional duties of testing, monitoring and administering the AHL’s COVID-19 health and safety protocols, allowing the league to operate in a safe and effective manner during the pandemic.

The AHL also acknowledges the assistant athletic trainers, equipment managers and staffs, and team doctors and medical staffs whose tireless efforts contributed to a successful year.

The AHL’s annual Man of the Year award is named after the late Yanick Dupré, who passed away in 1997 at the age of 24 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. A second-round draft pick of the Philadelphia Flyers in 1991, Dupré played four seasons in the AHL with the Hershey Bears and was an AHL All-Star in 1995.

This year’s winners of the Yanick Dupré Memorial Award are:

  • Chad Drown, Bakersfield Condors
  • Craig Belfer, Belleville Senators
  • Jon Williams, Binghamton Devils
  • Josh Sabitsky, Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Alex Ambrose, Charlotte Checkers
  • Kevin Kacer, Chicago Wolves
  • Tom Bourdon, Cleveland Monsters
  • Brent Woodside, Colorado Eagles
  • Josh Chapman, Grand Rapids Griffins
  • Brian Fairbrother, Hartford Wolf Pack
  • Todd Richardson, Henderson Silver Knights
  • Brian Riedel, Hershey Bears
  • Masayasu Takaiwa and Cole Harding, Iowa Wild
  • Glen Kinney, Laval Rocket
  • Brian Grogesky, Lehigh Valley Phantoms
  • Zach Salmonson, Manitoba Moose
  • Doug Agnew, Milwaukee Admirals
  • Jeff Andrews, Ontario Reign
  • Dustin Stuck, Providence Bruins
  • Michael Dhesse, Rochester Americans
  • D.J. Jones, Rockford IceHogs
  • Ryan Ledwon, San Diego Gulls
  • Will Leonard, San Jose Barracuda
  • Koryd Lavimoniere, Springfield Thunderbirds
  • Bryan Erspamer, Stockton Heat
  • Brad Chavis, Syracuse Crunch
  • Mike DeGaetano, Texas Stars
  • Jordan Aube, Toronto Marlies
  • Bill Nervig, Tucson Roadrunners
  • Roman Kaszczij, Utica Comets
  • Seamus McKelvey, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins


Carter Brooks - Associate Editor of Game On Magazine - is a news writer and sports columnist situated in Winnipeg, MB. On top of reading and writing, his favourite pastimes include camping, car-modification projects and coaching hockey. Carter can be reached at or on Twitter at @GameOnHockey.


Must See


More in AHL


Create a username and password below