Connect with us

Hockey Canada

Team Canada Announced for 2022 Winter Olympic Games

Photo by Nat Wilson

Team Canada Announced for 2022 Winter Olympic Games

Hockey Canada has announced its 25-player roster that will represent the country at the 2022 Olympic Winter Games in Beijing, China.

The team will consist of 14 forwards, eight defencemen and three goaltenders hand selected by general manager Shane Doan and his assisting front office crew.

With the National Hockey League recently announcing that players currently under contract will not be allowed to participate in the Games, the task of Doan and company grew substantially, outsourcing their team from players from around the world.

Nine players will join the team from Russia’s Kontinental Hockey League, eight will come from the European leagues, four players will be coming over from the American Hockey League, three players will be joining Canada from college hockey, while one player will come from the Canadian Hockey League.

Youngsters Owen Power and Mason McTavish will be tasked with helping run the show, despite only being 19 years old. The veteran Eric Staal will return in hopes of capturing his second gold medal, 12 years after earning first place in Vancouver 2010 with the Canadian team. He will likely serve as the team’s captain.

“We are proud to unveil the 25 players that have been nominated to represent Team Canada in Beijing,” said Hockey Canada chief executive officer Tom Renney. “We know these athletes will represent our country with a tremendous amount of pride as they compete for an Olympic gold medal. Hockey Canada wishes to extend its congratulations to the players and their families on their nomination to the Canadian Olympic Team. We know Canadians across the country and around the world will join us in cheering on the team at Beijing 2022.”

On top of the 25-player squad, Canada, much like every other Olympic hockey team – male and female – will feature a six-person taxi/reserve squad.

Those players making up the taxi squad will be:

  • Justin Pogge
  • Morgan Ellis
  • John Gilmour
  • Chris DiDomenico
  • Kent Johnson
  • Max Véronneau

The Canadian national team will now gather in Davos, Switzerland for an eight-day training camp running through February 1, before departing to Beijing. Canada will then face off against the United States in a pre-tournament game on February 7. The Men’s Hockey Tournament will run February 9-20 at the National Indoor Stadium and Wukesong Sports Centre. Preliminary-round action begins for Canada with a test against Germany on Feb. 10.

The full Canadian roster is listed below:


  • Daniel Carr
  • Adam Cracknell
  • David Desharnais
  • Landon Ferraro
  • Josh Ho-Sang
  • Corban Knight
  • Jack McBain
  • Mason McTavish
  • Eric O’Dell
  • Eric Staal
  • Ben Street
  • Adam Tambellini
  • Jordan Weal
  • Daniel Winnik


  • Mark Barberio
  • Jason Demers
  • Brandon Gormley
  • Alex Grant
  • Maxim Noreau Bronze
  • Owen Power
  • Mat Robinson Bronze
  • Tyler Wotherspoon


Carter Brooks - Associate Editor of Game On Magazine - is a news writer and sports columnist situated in Winnipeg, MB. On top of reading and writing, his favourite pastimes include camping, car-modification projects and coaching hockey. Carter can be reached at or on Twitter at @GameOnHockey.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in Hockey Canada


Create a username and password below